Today is Reyes, the Three Kings Day ,and the last day of the Christmas season in Spain (and you thought it was long in the states!) To celebrate the end of this absurdly overdone holiday, here’s a selection of my favorite clips about Christianity – some serious, most not. Enjoy!

Christianity Past
frontline_jesus
Frontline: From Jesus to Christ special on history of Christianity. The blurb: “Drawing upon historical evidence, the series challenges familiar assumptions and conventional notions about Christian origins. Archaeological finds have yielded new understandings of Jesus’ class and social status; fresh interpretations have transformed earlier ideas about the identity of the early Christians and their communities.” Thorough, interesting (well, for me, I like these kinds of programs) good for history junkies of all sorts.

BTW, I love PBS. I heart PBS. I love that they have a lot of video content online so that even though I’m out of the country I can still tune in and see Bill Moyers. (I heart Bill Moyers! I wish he was my grandpa! sorry…digression)

Christianity Present
Jesus Camp

Amazing and disturbing documentary about evangelicals in the U.S. and specifically one ministry that focuses its efforts on children, including a summer camp. This film is especially impressive in that it strives to be fair to and respectful of it’s subjects and, I believe, was viewed positively by them after it was released.

All I can think of though, during the scenes where the children are crying with the feeling of their sin or the holy spirit is of a Richard Dawkins quote “Who will say with confidence that sexual abuse is more permanently damaging to children than threatening them with the eternal and unquenchable fires of hell?” Some of those kids just aren’t gonna come out right.

Christianity ….poking fun!
Religulous

Bill Mahers’ not so great attempt at a comedy documentary on the state of religion today (largely US Christians). If you’re looking for great debate – go google Richard Dawkins. Maher doesn’t go past the punchline in challenging people’s beliefs usually, but he’s got some good, gawk-worthy, gotcha moments captured on film.

What Would Jesus Buy – For those who are appalled by the worship of money and needless goods at Christmas time. I haven’t had time to finish it yet, but looks wacky – check out the trailer. It’s from Morgan Spurlock, he of Super Size Me fame.

A Christmas Message to Christians from Marcus Brigstocke – A War on Christmas, eh? Best retort I’ve yet seen – I just wish someone in the States had the balls to be this direct – and still frickin’ funny.

Merry Mithras from Stephen Fry – Stephen Fry from a few years ago. (for more on the very repetitive story of the origin of christianity and Christ himself – there’s always the first part of Zeitgeist)

George Carlin: Religion is Bullshit Classic!

I actually once did a lesson using this routine in one of my English classes, because the vocabulary is a good level, and he speaks very clearly. I also then got to do a mini-lesson on phrasal verbs using the verb “to fuck.” (Adult class, of course. They loved it, its great when you can finally feel you understand comedy in another language.)
Bill Hicks, and here too. Not his best bits, but good for a chuckle or two.

