Faced with a shortage of money and materials, I wasn’t sure what to do for Halloween until the last moment. But I stumbled across this hideous American flag disco top and knew it had to be the centerpiece of any costume. So I decided to dress as the moral and political antithesis of myself! Red State Karina! Here’s some photos from friends of mine, mine are still stuck on my camera (stupid broken USB cable boo).

Here I am, bitterly clinging to guns and religion (fake Bible there), draping myself in the trappings of patriotism, preparing to vote McCain Palin.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

The hat was key – I printed up a McCain Palin sign in a jiffy, and it looked super spiffy. The hat actually caused me problems sometimes, when people (in the metro, for example) didn’t really catch on to the “it’s Halloween” thing and thought I was just some nut American. I had to explain it’s only a costume.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Not the best photo but you get a better look at the shirt – which was actually this incredibly slutty backless disco-sequin thing (given as a joke gift years ago). I had to wear an undershirt – I thought dressing as a prostitute would somehow conflict with the whole concept πŸ™‚

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Hey! It’s an American neo-con cozying up with an oil rich Saudi! Ahh the night was ripe for creating images with so many layers of meaning.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

All in all, it was an interesting experience. Most people loved the outfit – and before I even told them that I was dressed as the opposite of myself, the usually recoiled in mock horror at the scariness of it. Ok, it’s silly, but hey, it was Halloween and I had two hours to think of something, and I HAD to use that shirt. It was actually quite an interesting psychological exercise in exploring neglected sides of one’s personality, the dark side shall we say. Anywho,

