Great article in the Guardian (oops, had forgotten to post link! sooorry)about just the thing I was talking about the other day when I posted Michele “I’m-not-saying-leftists-are-un-American-but-they-are” Bachman’s freaky insinuations about there being an anti-American terrorist sympathizer on his way to the White House (knock wood, knock wood) in the person of Barack Obama.

Michael Tomasky addresses the British readers the way I try to talk to befuddled Europeans – like I did just today with my more advanced English students who just don’t get it – I gave them David Brook’s article on Palin, trying to explain where these people come from. Tomasky asks, referring to all the “un-American/anti-American/pro-American-parts-of-the-country” talk:

Do you folks do this sort of thing in Britain? I know there’s something about the chap on the Clapham omnibus who’s supposed to represent some kind of middling everyman. And I know you’ve got your xenophobes just like we do. But trust me. You don’t have a right wing that’s anything like our right wing.

No kidding. Bachman’s call at the end of the interview, for McCarthy-style witch hunts, as if there were really ANY subversives in Congress, was just bat-shit craaaaazy talk. Matthews asked her how many members of Congress she thought were un-American and she said:

What I would say – what I would say is that the news media should do a penetrating exposé and take a look. I wish they would. I wish the American media would take a great look at the views of the people in Congress and find out, are they pro-America or anti-America? I think people would love to see an exposé like that.

You ask yourself “is this woman for real?” and want to dismiss it as silly, as absurd, but you have to recognize that terrifyingly, she is for real – like other nut jobs have been for real in the past, and who seemed absurd at first. She really thinks that people who would go for the highest offices in the land could be anti-American subversives. I thought Tomasky’s title for his article was perfect “The Republicans Have Lifted the Lid Off Their Rightwing Id” – exactly. It’s like it’s what we always feared they really believed, but never thought they’d get so nutty as to come out and actively voice and perhaps pursue.

