I am feeling slightly unnerved by the recent reports in surges in support for McCain. As I have been catching up on the political developments of the last month, I have had a creeping feeling of unease. Of confusion. Of dread.

I missed the Republican and Democratic conventions while I was on the Camino. The whole Sarah Palin thing, which I found out about in some far-off outpost of civilization is still bewildering to me. “Who is this woman?” I thought. Now that I know, I wish I was still in that far-flung outpost.

If Obama loses, it is very likely that I will simply give up on my country as a whole. Sometimes I think I should be at home, helping, shouting, organizing, doing whatever it takes to make sure McCain does not get into the White House. But seriously, if he does, that’s it – the country will have proved itself far beyond hope and my meager help. I will take my energies elsewhere, somewhere where they will not be destroyed by the mindless neocon death machine and by the millions of American citizens willing to be lulled into it’s clutches.

I mean, Sarah Palin? Really? She’s the bright light that’s energizing the right? (whoa, too much rhyming) As a woman I am concerned (if I’m being diplomatic) and downright ashamed (if I’m being honest) that any woman would shift from Obama to McCain because of he’s got a woman on the ticket – anyone who does that is obviously not voting because of anything having even remotely to do with politics or ideology and certainly not ideals – they are voting on identity, image, they’re voting solely with their ovaries, which I don’t think is what female voter empowerment is supposed to be about.

And I’m not the only one who’ll just give up on the States – the rest of the world is going that way too. 2000 – well, we could be forgiven cuz really Gore won and the election was handed to Dubya by the Supreme Court, good people, bad power structure. 2004 – surprising to me here in Spain, but the war had obviously given Dubya a boost, it could be understood, there was a way to wrap your head around it eventually.

2008 – it’s unfathomable from the outside. How? How are you doing this!?!?!? Helllllooooooo?!?!?

Argh!!!!!

Here’s Jonathan Freedland anticipating the world reaction to a McCain victory, in the Guardian:

If Americans choose McCain, they will be turning their back on the rest of the world, choosing to show us four more years of the Bush-Cheney finger. And I predict a deeply unpleasant shift.

Until now, anti-Americanism has been exaggerated and much misunderstood: outside a leftist hardcore, it has mostly been anti-Bushism, opposition to this specific administration. But if McCain wins in November, that might well change. Suddenly Europeans and others will conclude that their dispute is with not only one ruling clique, but Americans themselves. For it will have been the American people, not the politicians, who will have passed up a once-in-a-generation chance for a fresh start – a fresh start the world is yearning for.

…Of course I know that even to mention Obama’s support around the world is to hurt him. Incredibly, that large Berlin crowd damaged Obama at home, branding him the “candidate of Europe” and making him seem less of a patriotic American. But what does that say about today’s America, that the world’s esteem is now unwanted? If Americans reject Obama, they will be sending the clearest possible message to the rest of us – and, make no mistake, we shall hear it.

But of course, the US isn’t even aware it’s sending a message to anyone, as far as it’s concerned, there is no other country with which it needs to have a conversation. It will simply sit and talk to itself. And that will be the end of that.

