A journey of 1000 miles begins with one step – and I’ve just taken my first one!

Ok, so it’s not gonna be 1000 miles – only 451 but hey, Spain’s not that big, and I don’t have that much time – I’m only going to have a month – just enough time to walk from Roncesvalles to Santiago de Compostela!!!!

Yup, I’ve wanted to do it for a while, thought I might do it last August but looks like this is my lucky year. (That’s me trying to put a positive spin on the fact that I’m not going to have work in August so I might as well find some thing good to do with the time without spending much money).

And for my first step – I bought my boots! Whoohooo! So now it’s official. I won’t be spending another soul-sucking August in this town (which I love but August is unbearable, really, the brain melts and atrophies all at the same time).

Now I’ve got to break the suckers in – which won’t be fun when the weather turns hot (any day now!) and I’ll be wanting to wear flip-flops. Will have to take more trips out to the Sierra, which I only recently started to explore as a nice escape from this often suffocating capital city:

Will keep folks updated as to preparations, and hey, anyone know of good books, websites, or other sources on the Camino? I’m starting almost from scratch here! Thanks!

