Okay, this has nothing to with anything, but I love Spain, and I love bears (Go Bears!) so I thought I’d post it anyways; brown bear populations are bouncing back in Spain!:

bearspain

Small colonies of brown bears are increasing in the craggy northern cordillera of Asturias and Cantabria. After being menaced by illegal hunters and the encroaching infrastructure of tourism, numbers of fertile females have doubled in the past decade and traces of bear activity have tripled in the last two years.

Interestingly there seems to be a bit of a global warming angle here perhaps:

Ursine history was made in the winter of 2006 when the foundation revealed that Cantabria’s brown bears had stopped hibernating. The region’s winters had become warmer in recent years, enabling the bears to forage for enough food all year round. Bears are well known for their propensity to slumber through the winter to the point of biological shutdown. But their behaviour went through a revolutionary change when female brown bears with young cubs found enough nuts, acorns, chestnuts and berries on Spain’s bleak northern mountainsides to make the effort of staying awake and hunting for food “energetically worthwhile”.

You know, I once had a boyfriend with a “propensity to slumber to the point of biological shutdown”. I guess I should’ve left food laying around.

