The phrase I’ve come across in my recent readings that I like best is “Solvitur Ambulando” – it is solved by walking (also taken from the Songlines). I am a true believer in the curative powers of a good walk. If I’m not pressed for time, I try to walk everywhere, because I feel I do my best thinking while walking (well, that and I lost my monthly metro pass while out on a bender for my birthday and didn’t want to fork out the cash for another one, ha!). I’m also reading The Art of Pilgrimage , by Phil Cousineau. Although it can get a bit cheesy, kinda new age touchy-feely, there’s a great collection of thoughts on just this power of movement, here are the two I liked best.

Kierkegaard: “Above all, do not lose your desire to walk: every day I walk myself into a state of well-being and walk away from every illness; I have walked myself into my best thoughts.”

Nietzsche “Never trust a thought that didn’t come by walking.”

I like that. It implies an awareness that thoughts, ideas, decisions, if you are to trust them, should be the result of a real process, real work, and that walking is somehow a physical representation of that journey of the mind. By making your body slow down, your mind, perhaps, must follow.

